15 Minutes

Financial, Relationship and Spiritual Growth. Personal Development. Leadership.

… This is a test of the emergency dictation system

Leave a comment

microphone2

(to test my microphone and voice recognition software this entire post will be composed of me dictating my entire last post. Not including this portion here in the parentheses.)

(Actually before I get into it I would like to point out how impressive it is that the dictation software actually recognize the difference of me wanting to have it spell out the word parentheses as opposed to just including a parentheses.)

… I am experiencing technical difficulties.
Nothing serious, I’ve been scratch that I’ve just been trying to attach a headset microphone to my computer. I spent a good six hours yesterday with a stupid headset mic trying to make it record my voice.
Quick back story: a publisher recommended setting up a workstation so that you could” speak your book” Tatian. I’ve never used a dictation program before, but I figured it would be great for me, since I do most of my writing longhand in a composition book. Not always, but a lot. For example, I am typing this strictly on my computer, since I happen to be sitting here, battling the evil forces of broken technology and have an important update which I am getting to. The downside is that when I type directly on my computer my thoughts tend to derail easily and all go off on a tangent and have to make an abrupt directional change skin jar the reader. Like the talking dog in the Pixar movie”” that would every once in a while stop in the middle of doing something and yell quote squirrel!”
(Scroll back to see what I was talking about before I” squirreled)
… Then I transcribe what I wrote to my computer later. Dictation seems like a great way to speed up the second part of that process. It would also help me to work on my pronunciation and diction, because after listening to my radio interview I realized I could stand to clean up my speaking skills.
Which began the battle of the microphone. I have a love-hate relationship with technology. I love it when it works, and he needed the rest of the time. Windows 7 is friendly enough to tech laggards like myself. But sometimes so idiot proof that it will not allow you to explore additional options. The troubleshooter kept telling me the device is working normally then would shut itself off.” How could you possibly know that without actually trying to record something you pompous adding machine? You are not working!” Tatian
drivers were updated. Reboot. Microphone not microphone not muted, change default audio recording device, make sure the levels are okay, try Windows forums to see if anyone else is having the same problem. So, the microphone itself must be broken. I took it to a friend of mine, plugged it into his laptop and in under 30 seconds handed it back to me and said it’s working here
her.
Still refuses to work on my computer.
So I tossed it.
I have an old WebCam that’s been sitting in a drawer for a few years which has a microphone built into it. I plugged it in and it worked in under 30 seconds, with modern technology is supposed to. Even managed to record myself saying” voice check, testing 12, testing 12, A, B, C…” H and and play it back!
All of this prose is just a quick update to explain that my next post will be dictated to my computer. I really meant this to be about a three or four sentence post, but I just kind of. Period. Squirreled.

(Okay, I’m typing again now. It took me a couple of minutes to dictate that post and obviously it would require a bit of editing and formatting before it would be publishable. I left it in it’s 100% raw form so that you could see what my computer thinks of my voice. I did practice a little bit before this attempt here, so I would know how to include punctuation and whatnot. My overall judgement is that despite the flaws and quirks, this would actually be slightly faster than my normal process of writing->typing->publish. Also, supposedly the software gets better over time as it learns your particular voice, diction, vocabulary and idiosyncratic expressions so that’s something to look forward to. Technology, I no longer hate you as much as I did yesterday…)

Author: Matt_S_Law

Matt S. Law is an author focusing on success principle and motivational books. He was born, raised and currently resides in Honolulu, Hawaii.

Leave a Reply

