15 Minutes

Financial, Relationship and Spiritual Growth. Personal Development. Leadership.

State of the Vision

Leave a comment

ImageIt’s the beginning of the year-well it’s still January at least-so I wanted to come up with a post to address the State of the Vision. Back in 2013 I began the year by rereading Visioneering by Andy Stanley, and coming up with a personal vision and mission statement for my life.

To positively impact one million people financially, relationally, or spiritually.

So, how am I doing?
I am still on course and have no desire to quit or amend my vision.
(I hope no one was expecting me to say mission accomplished after a year).

I spent a bit of time reflecting on 2013, trying to figure out how to progress into 2014. Here’s a brief strategic outline for the rest of this year:

Writing. Writing is the best way I know of to reach large numbers of people at a time. I hope that I can add value to people’s lives in some way through either my books or my blog. When I first launched this blog I said that I wanted to write at least three more books. So far I’ve written one but now have plans to write six more. I will also continue to blog once a week to have an avenue to reach readers more often than the once a year that I publish a book.

Entrepreneurship. I’ll be focusing a lot more this year on my previously neglected work as a small business consultant. Firstly because I could use the income. Secondly, because this is a venue where I can work with people on a face to face basis, to truly contact and connect with them and help them to achieve their financial goals. Expect some blog posts about the economy, about entrepreneurship, and about developing exit strategies for replacing employed income with self-employed income.

Non-Profiteering. This is new for me. I’m working with a couple of friends of mine to launch a non-profit organization here in Hawaii with the hopes of it spreading virally to the entire world. I’ll post additional details as they become available but it is an exciting idea with the potential to fulfill my vision on its own.

Acting? I’ll also be spending some extra time acting this year. In addition to my glorious contributions as a background extra on Hawaii 5-0, and being part of the cast for a local comedy TV show, my old theater producer from my Theatricus days is launching an all-new, all-audio storytelling theater. I don’t think acting necessarily has anything to do with advancing my vision, but it’s fun. Well that and it’s another channel to build a larger platform to reach more people. The more people I reach, the greater the opportunity to influence them positively.

Devotion. Fun fact: if you read the bible for 15 minutes every day you can complete it in a year (give or take a few minutes). I’ve actually done this twice. In 2011 and 2012. Kind of slacked off in 2013. Re-engaging for 2014. I want to make sure that I am keeping on a true north heading. Every day I’ll read to increase my belief and faith, to stay humble and grateful, to let God empower my words and actions.

Seeking. I’m also looking for a wife if anyone has a single friend…

So, to sum up the plates I’ll be spinning this year:

  • Self-employed business consultant
  • Writing books at a leisurely pace of one a year
  • Blogging once a week
  • Acting
  • Voice acting
  • Oh, did I mention I also have a full time job in addition to all this?

I wanted to launch a webcomic, too, but that’s not high on my priority list right now. I didn’t realize it until I itemized my 2014 schedule but… I might be busy this year. This year as in right now. It doesn’t seem like I’m overwhelmed with work though, despite averaging five hours of sleep a night. Here’s why: (and I think I’ve said this before) when you are passionate about your work you may get tired but you will never grow weary.

Tune in next year for the next State of the Vision Address.

Image

Author: Matt_S_Law

Matt S. Law is an author focusing on success principle and motivational books. He was born, raised and currently resides in Honolulu, Hawaii.

Leave a Reply

